Skip navigation
Bookletters
eAudio
  • By Subject
  • A to Z list
  • Magazines & Newspapers

Databases by Subject

The Library offers a wide range of electronic resources. Whether the Library is open or closed you have 24/7 access to these resources with your Montclair Public Library card.

Databases by Letter

The Library offers a wide range of electronic resources. Whether the Library is open or closed you have 24/7 access to these resources with your Montclair Public Library card.
Biographies Plus IllustratedMaking this the first stop for any biographic inquiry, Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated includes in-depth, full-text profiles, with more than 32,000 photographs of the subjects, plus up-to-date bibliographies. With coverage of newsmakers and figures of prominence from a wide range of fields, it encompasses biographical coverage from a host of high quality Wilson biographical resources, including Current Biography, the World Authors Series, and the Junior Authors & Illustrators series. In addition, Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated includes over 65,000 profiles licensed from a number of respected reference publishers.
Biography Collection Complete

Biography Collection Complete™ offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. This database features more than 177,000 full-text biographies from many different sources.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Bloom's Literary Reference OnlineExamines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Business Source Elite

This business database provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Magazines & Newspapers

The Library offers a wide range of electronic resources. Whether the Library is open or closed you have 24/7 access to these resources with your Montclair Public Library card.
Academic Search Premier

Academic Search™ Premier contains indexing for 8,025 publications, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains unmatched full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

America's NewsFind information on topics related to business, careers, economics, the arts, education, health, homework help, politics and more from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content including the Montclair Times, Newark Star-Ledger, The Record and USA Today.
Business Source Elite

This business database provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Custom Newspapers

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers features more than 33.5 million full-text articles from more than 1,000 newspapers from around the world. Selected articles from more than 300 additional sources of news and business information supplement the collection. Users can customize their collection by selecting from a growing list of important publications including regional, national and international sources.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

GreenFile

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Health Source - Consumer Edition

This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

InformeCreated exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users.
JerseyCatJerseyCat is New Jersey's statewide virtual catalog and interlibrary loan system. It is provided to all libraries within the State of New Jersey by the New Jersey State Library and the Regional Library Coopertives. Periodical titles can be searched for in the NJ Union List of Serials. It also provides New Jersey residents and library staff with an interlibrary loan system that they can use from their home, school, or office via the World Wide Web.
JerseyClicksNew Jersey's one stop library gateway to quality information.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,783 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 400,972 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

McClatchy-Tribune Collection

The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. This database is updated daily.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 400,972 photos, maps and flags.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Montclair TimesSearch full-text articles from (3/6/2008-Current) including local news, issues, events, business, education, obituaries, sports and more. 
New Jersey Union List of Serials(NJULS) is a list of magazines and journals, and the New Jersey libraries where they may be found.
New York Times (1851-2005)

Full-text of the New York Times from it's start in 1851-December 31, 2005. Access to 2005-current is available via the Proquest Newspapers database.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "The New York Times (1851-2004)" UNDER PROQUEST.

NewsBank NewspapersNewsbank offers cover to cover information from more than 200 newspapers including Newark Star-Ledger (1996 - current) and The Record (1985 - current).
Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

One Click DigitalMontclair Public Library patrons now have access to thousands of free downloadable audio books through OneClick Digital No waiting periods: multi-access titles can be downloaded instantly!

Download and transfer titles to your computer and mp3 devices with free Media Manager software (compatible devices listed here http://montclairnj.oneclickdigital.com/Help/Devices.aspx

iPhone/iPad/iPod users: download straigh/contentmgr/formatter.php?id=2876&type=3582&field=textarea_1&friendly=Description&pageheight=500&pagewidth=450t to your device with the OneClick Digital app, available for free at the iTunes app store!

Click here http://montclairnj.oneclickdigital.com/Home/Newly%20Added.aspx to create your OneClick Digital account today!
Primary Search

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Proquest Newspapers

Full text of newspaper articles including the New York Times (2005-present), the Chicago Tribune and the Los Angeles Times among others.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Proquest Research Library

From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated bi-weekly.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Salud en Espanol

Salud en Espanol provides health related information in Spanish.

 

(Part of the JerseyClicks collection of databases. Click on "Custom Search" and Choose "EBSCO Salud en Espanol" under "Espanol")

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Star LedgerSearch full-text articles from (3/6/2008-Current) including local news, issues, events, business, education, obituaries, sports and more. 
TOPICsearch

TOPICsearch contains full text for over 60,000 articles from 399 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON THE NAME OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR ACCESS.

Wall Street Journal

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

 

THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY BCCLS. ENTER YOUR LIBRARY CARD NUMBER AND CLICK "LOG-IN TO REFERENCE RESOURCES". CLICK ON "ALL RESOURCES" IN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER TO SEE A FULL LIST OF DATABASES. CLICK ON PROQUEST NEWSPAPERS FOR ACCESS TO THE WALL STREET JOURNAL.